Cod and Climate Change

Introduction

Jakob Jakobsson

Convener and Editor

At the Statutory Meeting held in Copenhagen in 1990, the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea decided to convene a Symposium on Cod and Climate Change in Reykjavík, Iceland, for five days in August 1993. In accordance with this resolution and in consultation with the Chairmen of the relevant Subject/Area Committees and the Chairman of the Consultative Committee, a Steering Group was formed with Jakob Jakobsson as the Convener. The members of the Steering Group were: Niels Daan (The Netherlands), David Garrod (United Kingdom), Bogi Hansen (Faroe Islands, Denmark), Jens Meincke (Germany), Brian J. Rothschild (USA), Sigfús A. Schopka (Iceland), Michael M. Sinclair (Canada), and Svein Sundby (Norway). The Steering Group met in Hamburg in April 1991 and agreed on the main features of the programme for the Symposium. Otherwise, members of the committee worked by correspondence.

The Symposium was held during the period 23–27 August 1993 at the University of Iceland in Reykjavík. At the opening ceremony, the President of Iceland, Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, gave a welcome address, and the President of ICES, David de G. Griffith, delivered an opening address. In addition, a children's choir entertained the more than 200 participants with folksongs from various ICES countries.

Registration and the day-to-day information service were handled most efficiently by Gillian Post of the ICES Secretariat. She was assisted by staff members of the Iceland Travel Bureau, who also organized a tour to Thingvellir and an enjoyable conference dinner.

The Symposium was conducted in nine consecutive sessions, with no parallel sessions. Of the 108 titles submitted, 59 papers were selected for oral presentation and 24 posters for display at special poster sessions.

Three joint meetings of the Steering Group and Session Chairmen were held during the Symposium, and an Editorial Committee was formed, comprising Jakob Jakobsson (Editor-in-chief), Olafur S. Astthorsson, R. J. H. Beverton, Björn Björnsson, Niels Daan, Kenneth T. Frank, Jens Meincke, Brian J. Rothschild, Svein Sundby, and Snorre Tilseth.

From the papers and posters submitted, a total of 59 manuscripts were divided among the editors, evaluated by at least two reviewers, and accepted for publication.

I take this opportunity to thank the Steering Group and the other Editors, as well as all the people who worked so hard and efficiently at reviewing the papers (see following page). Without their devotion this volume of the *ICES Marine Science Symposia* series would not have reached the scientific standard aimed at by the editorial board. Cordial thanks are extended to Olafur S. Astthorsson for his invaluable help and support throughout the editorial process. Sincere thanks are also extended to the ICES Technical Editor, Judith Rosenmeier, who has once again excelled at her difficult task.

The Symposium and the coordination of the editorial work received financial support from the Icelandic Ministry of Fisheries and the Marine Research Institute.

Jakob Jakobsson: Marine Research Institute, Skúlagata 4, PO Box 1390, 121 Reykjavík, Iceland.